Those who want to obtain a marriage license in North Dakota, must apply to their county Clerk’s office. If for some reason you are not a ND resident but you want to apply there, there would be absolutely no problem for you. Whether you decide on civil ceremony or not, two witnesses must sign the marriage certificate in order to be valid. There must be two witnesses. There is neither a minimum age specified nor capability requirements for witnesses. In addition, the officiant must sign the document as well. If the officiant is a secular official authorized to perform such a ceremony, he/she must present their full name on marriage certificates in North Dakota.
To get a marriage license in North Dakota you should apply to any city or town Clerk’s office. The parties must both appear in person and must apply together. Here are the main marriage identification requirements to obtain a marriage license in ND:
Besides these documents the couple may even present their parents’ or guardians’ full names, birth certificates, states or foreign countries of birth. North Dakota law doesn’t require proof of residency for a couple who is going to marry in the state. If the parties want to marry in this state, they should first of all fill out the application form providing the above mentioned information, no matter where their residence is located. Residents from out-of-state can marry in North Dakota without any conflicts too. After they issue your license, the couple can marry in any town or city in North Dakota.
In order to get married in North Dakota you must be at least 18 years of age or older, otherwise you may not marry without parental consent. A birth certificate will be necessary to prove your age.
If either party is 17 years of age, parents or guardians must be present. In case a parent can not be present, due to death, separation, divorce or other circumstances, you must present proper evidence for verification, that is the written consent of parents or legal guardians. In addition, legal guardians must take legal proof of guardianship to the Clerk’s office.
If you are under 16 you can not marry.
For a happy chance there is no waiting period in North Dakota, as in the case of New Hampshire. Your marriage license will be issued immediately. Accordingly you can take the marriage license after you fill out and sign the application. You can use it anywhere in North Dakota. Your marriage license will expire 60 days after supplying with the current day included. When your marriage license expires and it is not valid anymore, you must reapply for marriage certificate, restart the application process and as no refunds are available you must purchase a marriage license again.
So if you wonder whether you can get your marriage license and marry the same day in ND, the answer will be YES!
A current license fee is $60-$65 in every county. It is non-refundable and in case your marriage license expires you will need a brand new one for which you must pay again. The marriage license fee does not include a certified copy of your marriage certificate. You may purchase it separately for $5–$10. Some counties may require cash only.
Civil ceremonies are performed by officiants. Officiants are the ordained ministers of the gospel and priests of every church, including those who are not residing in North Dakota. You must make an appointment with your officiant and purchase the required fee. A civil ceremony costs $30. County Clerk’s offices may offer you a low-cost ordination that is valid throughout the United States, including North Dakota. In case you need additional information, look up ND Marriage Officiant Guide.
If one of you lives in North Dakota, this means you can marry anywhere in the state. So, the first step is filling out the application form. ND marriage license application requires ID to verify age and identity. This can be a passport, certified birth certificate, or another form of state issued ID but most counties prefer a driver’s license. If this is not your first marriage most counties also require that you provide proof of your previous marriage’s end date. This means you must present a certified copy of the final divorce decree in the case of divorce. If you are a widow. you must present a certified copy of your former spouse’s death certificate.
Otherwise, you can marry in the county that issues the marriage license.
You may obtain a certified copy of your marriage license from the office which issued the marriage license right after the time the clerk performed the ceremony. Sometimes you mail the clerk’s office a request with your full name and marriage date. You must pay all the fees in advance. Those, who married before December 31, 1994, must pay an $8 fee, and those, who married after January 1, 1995 must pay a $6 fee.
You can find the certified copies of marriage records here. There is an appropriate information about obtaining a certified copy of a marriage record including some details like the appropriate fee as it may differ from county to county.
You should apply to your county Clerk’s office. There are no special residency requirements. Therefore you do not have to be a previous or current resident of North Dakota to get a marriage license that will be valid statewide. Information on where to apply you can find on your county’s website. If you are a resident of North Dakota, you can apply in any county and the license will be usable throughout the state. However, if none of the parties are residents of North Dakota, you need to apply for your license in the county where the wedding will take place.
You are not allowed to marry any member of the family (grandparent, parent, child, grandchild, sibling, uncle, aunt, niece, nephew, first cousins). As for out-of-state marriages they will be recognized as long as the marriage could have taken place in ND by law.
Blood tests or any physical exams are not required.
You should specify your new name on the marriage license application. Name change is optional, not automatic. You must notify government agencies abou your name, surname or middle name change. In case you cannot visit Clerk’s office you can use an online marriage name change kit before or after your marriage takes place. It’s applicable for North Dakota or any other state in the United States. Completing all the necessary name change documentation before your wedding is recommended in order to fasten the name change process.
For more information you may apply
North Dakota Marriage Vital Records
State Capitol, 600 E Blvd, Dept 301
Bismarck, ND 58505-0200